International Leagues

End of an era in Serie A: Inter is champion and cut Juventus' nine consecutive titles

The Milan team screamed champion after eleven long years. 

By Fredi Roman

The Milan team screamed champion after eleven long years. 
The Milan team screamed champion after eleven long years. 
Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

After nine years, the Serie A Scudetto changed ownership, as a result of the 1-1 draw between Atalanta and Sassuolo. The team led by Gian Piero Gasperini missed the last chance they had to continue fighting for the championship and no one will be able to catch Inter at the top, with 82 points.

On Saturday, Antonio Conte's men did their thing by beating Crotone 2-0, which mathematically lost the category, and this Sunday they were watching closely what was happening at MAPEI Stadium. Despite opening the scoring in the 32nd minute with a goal from Robin Gosens, the early dismissal of goalkeeper Pierluigi Gollini at 22 was key to the outcome. Although they were able to hold on with the result in their favor in the first half, it was at 52 when Doménico Berardi appeared to mark equality.

The visitors had an unbeatable opportunity to turn the game around and seal the three points in the 75th minute, but Colombian Luis Muriel missed the penalty after kicking down the middle and the ball bouncing off Andrea Consigli's feet. Despite not being able to triumph, the Bergamo team showed great athletic and mental condition, and managed to compete at a high level despite their numerical inferiority.

Inter are the new Serie A champions after seeing Juventus take the title year after year with a clear dominance over their rivals. Now, four dates from the end, it was Antonio Conte's men who managed to get a difference of 13 points with his immediate pursuer.

Vecchia Signora for now is in fifth position with 66 points, behind Zlatan Ibrahimovic's Milan, who also had their moment to lead this season, Napoli and Atalanta. Inter, who had not won a trophy since the 2011 Italian Cup, were crowned Italian champions for the nineteenth time in their history.


More news