International Leagues

Concacaf Gold Cup 2021: when start the tournament for USMNT, matches and rivals

By Mauricio Saenz

Concacaf Gold Cup 2021: when start the tournament for USMNT, matches and rivals

There is less and less time for the international tournament of selections to begin

Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

The luck has already been cast and everyone's dream of shouting champion again is more latent than ever. The 2021 Gold Cup has already defined the group stage. Seeded in Group B, the United States will face Canada, Martinique and the Winner of Preliminary 7, seeking to lift their seventh Concacaf crown, something they have not achieved since 2017.

After the draw takes place, the group stage will award one of the best matchups there can be in Concacaf. The United States with Christian Pulisic and Sergiño Dest will face off with the European champion, Alphonso Davies, who has dazzled with Bayern Munich and seeks to do the same with Canada. Martinique and the winner of the preliminaries, who will come from Haiti, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Bermuda or Barbados will be the other two rivals of those led by Gregg Berhalter.

"We look forward to competing in our confederation's main event. We have a good group. The three opponents will challenge us in different ways. Our goal is to progress in the group and ultimately compete for a trophy," said coach Gregg Berhalter.

The groups will be completed weeks before the group competition begins, when the preliminary phase of the Gold Cup takes place. For its part, Mexico will face El Salvador, Curaçao and the winner of preliminary 9 in Group A.

Mexico is the defending champion

The Mexican National Team is the last champion team in the Gold Cup. El Tri was consecrated in the 2019 edition by beating the United States 1-0 in the final with a goal from Jonathan dos Santos. Therefore, Mexico holds eight Gold Cups and eleven titles of the Concacaf (Confederation of North America, Central America and the Caribbean of Soccer), counting the Cup among national teams that was played from 1963 to 1989, which the Tri conquered in three oprotunities.


More news