Competitions > Champions League

Who won the first Champions League ever?

Originally known as the European Cup, the Champions League is the most prestigious official international soccer tournament at club level.

Who won the first Champions League ever?

As a result of an initiative proposed by the English press, a championship exclusively for European clubs began to be held. This initiative had the support of important European leaders, including Raimundo Saporta and Santiago Bernabéu, whose cooperation helped to promote the competition, which was approved in 1955. That same year the first edition of the Champions League was held and Real Madrid won. Find the latest news about the first team to ever win the Champions League and keep informed about its results.

The list of Champions League winning teams is headed by Real Madrid with 13 titles, followed by Milan with 7 titles and Bayern Munich and Liverpool with 6 titles each. The winner of the last edition of the tournament was Chelsea F.C.

The tournament is held every year and the winner plays the European Super Cup against the winner of the Europa League. In addition, it became the confederation's representative in the FIFA Club World Cup. Learn more about other European competitions and don’t miss any of your favorite teams’ news.

In 2018 there was a new restructuring rule by the clubs themselves in which the top four federations had four teams that qualified directly to the group stage, along with the two best teams from the next two federations. The champions of the federations with the best ranking from seventh to tenth place completed the quotas. 

The trophy

The cup was created by Swiss jeweler Jorg Stadelmann. It is made of silver and weighs 4 kilos. 

This trophy has been awarded since the 1966/67 season, after the original cup, donated by the French newspaper L'Equipe, was kept by Real Madrid, a privilege to which only clubs that have won the title up to five times or on three consecutive occasions have access. 

The trophy given to the Champions League winner

Since the 2008 edition, UEFA became the eternal owner of the trophy, so that the authentic trophy is never given in property, but the team that wins the trophy is given an exact replica as well as a badge of recognition. The only clubs that have the authentic trophy in their trophy cabinets are Real Madrid, Ajax, Bayern Munich, Milan and Liverpool.

Related Articles

More Soccer News

More Soccer News