FC Barcelona robbed? Ex-referee admits the error in Raphinha's disallowed goal

Raphinha could've had a brace in the game against Las Palmas but it was ruled offside by the VAR.

By Emmanuel Mendez

Raphinha scored in FC Barcelona's win but he had a goal disallowed earlier in the game which caused controversy.
Raphinha scored in FC Barcelona's win but he had a goal disallowed earlier in the game which caused controversy.
Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

FC Barcelona fans were happy that their team managed to defeat Las Palmas 1-0 at home in La Liga. It was an important three points for the Catalan side and got them in contention to compete for the title with Real Madrid despite being eight points below Los Blancos. Although Raphinha scored the winner for FC Barcelona with a header in the second half, the Brazilian had a goal disallowed in the first half, which caused lots of controversy. Raphinha, the Barcelona players, and Xavi couldn't believe the referee and VAR's decision about the play. The goal was ruled off for offside in a play many couldn't understand since the Brazilian did not touch the ball until a Las Palmas defender tried to clear it. A former La Liga referee took a look at the play, and he admits that the decision was a mistake.

Related News: FC Barcelona set to part ways with this player this summer who'll leave for free

Former La Liga referee Mateu Lahoz spoke with Futbol en Movistar Plus about the disallowed goal FC Barcelona scored. Raphinha appeared to be offside at the start of the play, but Robert Lewandowski took the ball and went into the box. The ball then fell to Raphinha, who passed the ball into the net. Lahoz gave his opinion on the disallowed goal, and he couldn't believe the decision.

Lahoz said, "The canceled goal to Raphinha? It was embarrassing... it's madness that we could cancel this goal. He is in an offside position but has absolutely no influence and, therefore, cannot be sanctioned. It has nothing to do with the action and, therefore, nothing to do with the offside rule. It’s not Lewandowski who gives him the ball. Where is Raphinha's fault if he is in position when Fermín gives the ball into space?"

Related News: Great news for FC Barcelona and Xavi, the two players soon fit to play again

Mateu Lahoz continues his explanation as to why the goal should've not been disallowed

Lahoz mentions that surrounding Raphinha was in during the play, which should allow the goal to count. Lahoz said, "Raphinha has two defenders in front of him, the ball is in front of him, and the defender has control. What if Coco (Las Palmas defender) shot the ball, and it collided with Lewandowski and entered the net? Or collided with Lewandowski and then Raphinha? There will be no offside."

More news