Gold Cup 2021: the regulations of the tournament in which Mexico and the USMNT will play

By Mauricio Saenz

Gold Cup 2021: the regulations of the tournament in which Mexico and the USMNT will play

Concacaf released the details of how the competition will take place and revealed that Las Vegas will be the city that will host the defining match

Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

The 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup will begin on June 10 with the start of the group stage and although there is still a little less than a hundred days before its kickoff, the city chosen to host the decisive match has already been defined. The entity published an image of the painting and Las Vegas appears as the place where the final will take place on August 1.

The organizing body for soccer in North, Central America and the Caribbean defined that the Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada, where the Oakland Raiders usually plays their matches corresponding to the National Football League (NFL), would be the stage where the new champion of the continent's top national team tournament.

How will the 2021 Gold Cup be played?

By 2021, Concacaf's main competition will include for the first time the Prelims (Preliminary Round) prior to the Group Phase of the tournament, which comprises 16 teams. The 12 nations that will participate in the Prelims have qualified through their performances in the Concacaf Nations League and will compete for the last three places in the Group Stage of the Gold Cup. This event will take place entirely at Inter Miami CF Stadium in South Florida, the home of the Major Soccer League (MLS) club.

This is how the preliminary matches will be

It will take place between June 2 and 3.

Match 1: Haiti vs Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Match 2: Guatemala vs Guyana
Match 3: Trinidad and Tobago vs Monserrat
Matchup 4: Cuba vs French Guiana
Pairing 5: Guadeloupe vs Bahamas
Pairing 6: Bermuda vs Barbados

The six winners of the first round will qualify for the second round, to be played on July 6, so there will be three keys left. The winner of match 1 will face match 6; 2, 5 and 3, 4. Those selected who win each will access the group stage.

What are the 2021 Gold Cup groups?

Group A: Mexico, El Salvador, Curaçao and Winner Preliminary Round 9
Group B: United States, Canada, Martinique and Winner Preliminary Round 7
Group C: Costa Rica, Jamaica, Suriname and Winner Preliminary Round 8
Group D: Honduras, Panama, Granada and Qatar (invited)

There will be VAR in the 2021 Gold Cup

The VAR (Video Assistant Referee) can be used to review decision changes / match incidents according to the protocol established by the IFAB.

Mexico's the last champion of the Gold Cup

The Mexican National Team is the last champion team in the Gold Cup. El Tri was established in the 2019 edition by beating the United States 1-0 in the final with a goal from Jonathan dos Santos. Therefore, Mexico holds eight Gold Cups and eleven titles of the Concacaf (Confederation of North America, Central America and the Caribbean of Soccer), counting the Cup among national teams that was played from 1963 to 1989, which the "Tri" conquered in three oprotunities.


More news