Gold Cup 2021 kick-off date: When, what and where is the first match of the tournament?

The Concacaf Gold Cup will begin on July 2

By Mauricio Saenz

The Concacaf Gold Cup will begin on July 2
The Concacaf Gold Cup will begin on July 2
Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

There is less and less time for the Concacaf Gold Cup to have its kickoff. Gone is the Concacaf Nations League, where the USMNT became champion after beating Mexico, so the teams that make up the region are now ready to play the tournament.

This competition will be more special than usual, as it'll mark Concacaf's 60th anniversary, meaning they'll go all-out to celebrate this remarkable milestone, as confirmed by Concacaf President and FIFA Vice President Victor Montagliani on their official website:

“We are extremely pleased to confirm the schedule and venues for this summer’s Concacaf Gold Cup, which promises to be a celebration of football in our great region. 2021 is Concacaf’s 60th anniversary year and we look forward with great anticipation to watching the best men’s national teams in our confederation compete for the Gold Cup title. With an exciting new format and the prospect of welcoming passionate fans to the stadiums for these compelling matchups, I can’t wait for the football to begin on July 2nd and to crown a champion in Las Vegas on August 1st,” read the statement.

Concacaf Gold Cup 2021: Kick-Off Date

Concacaf's ultimate nation soccer competition will begin on July 2 with the preliminary round. Then, the group stage will start on July 10 and run through July 20. The final will take place on August 1 at the Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Concacaf Gold Cup 2021: What Is The First Match Of The Tournament?

The first game of the preliminary round will take place on July 2 at 4:30 PM (ET) at DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, FL, between Haiti and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. As for the first game of the Group Stage, it will take place on July 10 at 5:30 PM (ET) at Toyota Stadium in Dallas between El Salvador and Curaçao.

Mexico is the defending champion of the Gold Cup

The Mexican National Team is the last champion team in the Gold Cup. El Tri was consecrated in the 2019 edition by beating the United States 1-0 in the final with a goal from Jonathan dos Santos. Therefore, Mexico holds eight Gold Cups and eleven Concacaf titles, counting the Cup among national teams that was played from 1963 to 1989, which the "Tri" won in three times.


More news