News

What FIFA says about Barcelona's payments to the referees and the controversy vs Bilbao

FC Barcelona are getting into a huge problem with this Negreira issue.

By William Estrella

FC Barcelona are getting into a huge problem with this Negreira issue.
FC Barcelona are getting into a huge problem with this Negreira issue.

FC Barcelona won 0-1 on their visit to Athletic Club Bilbao at the San Mamés stadium in the Basque Country for La Liga in Spain, with a goal by Raphinha taking the lead and almost losing the match at the last minute.

In this way, Xavi Hernández's team is nine units above Real Madrid thinking about the leadership of La Liga in Spain and who will be the champion this season, both fighting hand in hand but the White House counting on the UEFA Champions League this season while Barca was left out of the Europa League.

Although the truth is that in the middle of the Barca Gate, with justice determining whether the payments to José María Enríquez Negreira between 2016 and 2018 were to effectively favor the Catalan club or not in those years, FC Barcelona was once again favored in this edition of the Spanish League.

Xavi Hernández's Barcelona was favored again today with a controversial action at the end of the game that ended up being decisive for the Catalan team to win 0-1 against Athletic Club Bilbao in this new round of La Liga in Spain .

Xavi Hernández's men were directly favored with a play annulled by the VAR and the match referee Jesús Gil Manzano. Iñaki Williams had converted the tie but the play was invalidated by a controversial hand that the referee observed through the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) observed a supposed hand from Iker Muniain for which he ended up invalidating the action, which gave him the victory to the boat In this way, the Catalan team maintains the advantage of nine units against Real Madrid and the controversy remains in force.

What does FIFA say?

FIFA is clear, and in its regulations it contradicts what happened in the Athletic Club field. This is what FIFA says in its regulations: "In the event that, as a result of a hand accidentally, an opportunity for goal or end in a penalty, the move will be valid and will not be cancelled. This assumption was arbitrated differently the previous season, canceling the move."


William Estrella

William Estrella

I'm a Mexican sports journalist with more than 8 years of experience, especially in digital media. I cover breaking news and investigative articles on current soccer events worldwide. I currently write for El Futbolero USA. Previously, I worked as a radio announcer in my country, covering Mexican soccer.

More news