Major League Soccer

Carles Gil MLS MVP 2021

After returning in superstar mode following an Achilles tendon injury, the Spaniard joins the exclusive David Villa and Alejandro Pozuelo club.

Carles Gil also won the Comeback of the Year
Carles Gil also won the Comeback of the Year

The MLS will dispute on Saturday, December 11th the final, but before the game, announced the most important distinction of the year, the Most Valuable Player, one of the awards with which the US football wants to give its personal signature in the purest way as the NFL or the NBA does. 

Carles Gil, New England Revolution Player

As a result of an outstanding season with the New England Revolution, Carles Gil was voted MVP of the season, becoming the second Spaniard to win the award and giving Spain a unique achievement, as they are the first 'foreign' country to win the award in consecutive years after Alejandro Pozuelo won the award in 2020.

Spanish MVP winners

Gil had 11 assists and four goals in 28 games during the season, in which the New England Revolution set the MLS single-season points record. Last year, Alejandro Pozuelo won the award with nine goals and 10 assists with a 2020 MLS Ideal IX nomination. Also not to be forgotten is David Villa's arrival in U.S. professional soccer who became the first MVP with a Spanish flavor.

New England Revolution 2021 Season

New England Revolution, despite scoring more than 12 points than any other team in the regular season, were the latest victim of the Supporters' Shield curse as they fell in the conference semifinals to New York City FC.

The Comeback of the Year

The MVP is not Gil's only recognition this season, as he took the Comeback of the Year award, beating out Chicharito Hernandez of the Los Angeles Galaxy, after suffering an Achilles tendon injury that left him practically out of action in 2020.

Gil is the second Revolution player to be proclaimed the MVP, following Taylor Twellman in the 2005 season. It is also the eighth year that a foreigner has won the MVP, the last US player named MVP was Mike Magee with Chicago Fire in 2013. Gil is the 25th MLS MVP, as only Preki (1997 and 2003) has been able to repeat as the Most Valuable Player.

Landon Donovan MLS MVP Award Winners

1996 - Carlos Valderrama (Colombia), Tampa Bay Mutiny

1997 - Preki (USA), Kansas City Wizards

1998 - Marco Etcheverry (Bolivia), D.C. United

1999 - Jason Kreis (USA), Dallas Burn

2000 - Tony Meola (USA), Kansas City Wizards

2001 - Alex Pineda Chacón (Honduras), Miami Fusion

2002 - Carlos Ruíz (Guatemala), Los Angeles Galaxy

2003 - Preki (USA), Kansas City Wizards

2004 - Amado Guevara (Honduras), MetroStars

2005 - Taylor Twellman (USA), New England Revolution

2006 - Christian Gómez (Argentina), D.C. United

2007 - Luciano Emilio (Brasil), D.C. United

2008 - Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Argentina), Columbus Crew

2009 - Landon Donovan (USA), Los Angeles Galaxy

2010 - David Ferreira (Colombia), FC Dallas

2011 - Dwayne De Rosario (Canada), D.C. United

2012 - Chris Wondolowski (USA), San Jose Earthquakes

2013 - Mike Magee (USA), Chicago Fire

2014 - Robbie Keane (Ireland), LA Galaxy

2015 - Sebastian Giovinco (Italy), Toronto FC

2016 - David Villa (Spain), New York City FC

2017 - Diego Valeri (Argentina), Portland Timbers

2018 - Josef Martínez (Venezuela), Atlanta United

2019 - Carlos Vela (México), Los Angeles FC

2020 - Alejandro Pozuelo (Spain), Toronto FC

2021 - Carles Gil (Spain), New England Revolution


Hugo Alberto Walls Gómez

SEO Journalist. Bachelor's Degree in Communication and Media Production. Two years working in digital media and editorial assignments. Currently working for Futbolero US and collaborating with INDeportes and Goleadoras MX, following Liga MX, MLS, and the Premier League. Passionate about sports and soccer.+ info

Related Articles

More Soccer News

More Soccer News