International Players

The two new Ballon d'Or awards, what are they and how are they awarded?

Few hours to the Ballon d'Or event, France football announced two new awards will be given. What are they and the criteria for them?

Robert Lewandowski
Robert Lewandowski

France Football added two new awards to the Ballon d'Or this year - the club of the year and the striker of the year and Chelsea and Robert Lewandowski won both respectively, the first of their kind.

The awards were announced a few hours to the start of the event and it was later revealed as the striker of the year, which many believed Robert Lewandowski would win and he rightfully did, and the club of the year which was in between Chelsea, Bayern Munich and Manchester City.

The striker of the year is for the player with the most goals in the time under consideration, an award many believe was made as a compensation for Robert Lewandowski who was deservedly the best player of 2020 award which did not hold due to Covid.

The club of the year is awarded to the best club in the year under consideration and it was so rightfully awarded to UEFA Champions League winners Chelsea and other worthy winners could be Bayern Munich and Manchester City.

Elijah Odetokun

Poet | Anthologist | Sports Writer & Journalist | Content Creator | Adventurist | Broadcast Intern |+ info

Related Articles

More Soccer News

More Soccer News