International Players

The surprising prize that Neymar won

The Brazilian was awarded and surprised everyone

By Fredi Roman

The Brazilian was awarded and surprised everyone
The Brazilian was awarded and surprised everyone
Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

Neymar has his particular Ballon d'Or in 2020. The Brazilian from PSG has been awarded the Gold Samba, an award that the French association Sambafoot has awarded since 2008 to the best Brazilian player in Europe. Neymar adds to the 2020 Gold Samba, the awards that he won in 2014 and 2015 (in the ranks of Barcelona) and that of 2017, already with the PSG shirt. A fourth award that allows him to break the tie with his compatriot Thiago Silva as the best Brazilian footballer in Europe. 


Neymar, despite being left out of the final shortlist for The Best 2020 Award (Robert Lewandowski, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi), was a finalist in the Champions League with PSG and was in the UEFA 2020 ideal eleven.

Neymar scored 23 goals and distributed 12 assists in 30 games for PSG in 2020. Figures that allowed him to be the most voted for by fans, journalists around the world and former Brazilian players who voted in Sambafoot. Neymar relieves Alisson, Liverpool goalkeeper, winner in 2019.

All winners of the Gold Samba award

2008: Kaká (Milan)

2009: Luis Fabiano (Seville)

2010: Maicon (Inter)

2011: Thiago Silva (Milan)

2012: Thiago Silva (PSG)

2013: Thiago Silva (PSG)

2014: Neymar (Barcelona)

2015: Neymar (Barcelona)

2016: Coutinho (Liverpool)

2017: Neymar (PSG)

2018: Firmino (Liverpool)

2019: Alisson (Liverpool)

2020: Neymar (PSG)


More news