International Players

What did Mbappé say after Messi gave him the penalty and missed it?

Paris Saint Germain achieved a hard-fought victory at home on the third date of the Champions League with Lionel Messi as the scorer.

Kylian Mbappé and Lionel Messi
Kylian Mbappé and Lionel Messi

PSG managed to avoid a tough rival in the Parc des Princes for the third round of group A of the UEFA Champions League. They won 3-2 against Red Bull Leipzig with two goals from Lionel Messi and one remaining from Kylian Mbappé. Both the Argentine and the French were the two figures of the team.

When it seemed that all was lost at Parc Des Princes, the associations at PSG began to grow in the middle and Mbappé emerged as the goal of the passes. It was thus, that Lionel Messi was in charge of putting the tie 2 to 2, so that minutes later, his team happens to win, in what would be the final result of the match.

There was a penalty for Paris Saint Germain, 15 minutes from time. The rival, very tough. The game was burning. And the referee points out the penalty spot, so that the locals go on to get up on the scoreboard. It was thus that the French striker pointed to the Argentine to take charge. Messi, very coldly, kicked him to Panenka to unleash the delirium in local territory.

When the result was final, and finally PSG would keep the three points, a new infraction within the area, determined another penalty for the local, who then had the chance to extend their distance. It was like this, that the Argentine returned courtesies, and this time, he let him kick number 7. This, grateful for the gesture, did not want to be less than Lionel Messi, but ended up failing, hitting the ball really badly.

After the game was over, the question was not long in coming. Why did they decide to take penalties in this way? Isn't there someone designated in advance? In this regard, Mbappé declared: "I gave Messi the first penalty out of respect. He is the best player in the world. He comes to our team, it is a privilege that he comes to play with us. You have a penalty, he shoots it, period. The second he wanted to give me, and I failed", explained the footballer from Monaco.

Alexis Almosnino

Digital Sports Journalist received at the university Tea & Deportea in 2016. Specialized in graphic media.+ info

Related Articles

More Soccer News

More Soccer News