Gold Cup odds 2021. Mexico or USMNT, which is the favourite to win the tournament?

By Alexis Almosnino

Gold Cup odds 2021. Mexico or USMNT, which is the favourite to win the tournament?

The countdown is already finish, since last friday started the competition. Although the expectation is very high, history marks in advance where the champion will lean, at least on the paper.

Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

The Gold Cup is already a reality, and as Concacaf, the body that regulates soccer in North America, has been planning every day, the tournament that started on July 10, to end up meeting the champion only the 1st of August. In this new edition, Mexico will be in charge of defending the crown, after proclaiming itself champion of the tournament in 2019.

The tournament begin with a preliminary phase, to define the last classified. In this way, the participants rise from 12 to 16, adding 4 tickets according to the recently named stage. In addition, as the main changes to be promoted, the VAR will be implemented in the matches, and the order of the keys will be reversed from the quarters, which could make Mexico face the United States before the final.

The tournament consists of 4 groups of 4 teams, in which everyone will face each other, and only the first 2 will qualify for the next instance. Consequently, the third and fourth will be eliminated from the competition. Once the Group Stage is over, the table for the Final Stage will be drawn up. Here the best 8 teams of the tournament will face each other to decide the new Champion.

All matches will have the same format: if the tie persists after 90 minutes of regulation time, an extra time consisting of two periods of 15 minutes will be played. If we still do not have a winner, we will have a definition from penalties. 

Who is the highest contender for the title?

The history indicates that Mexico is the main winner of the competition, with 8 milestones. However, it is as favorite as the United States, which with 6 titles ranks second in the number of champion times. The podium is completed by Canada, which with the 2000 championship joins the list, being the third and last team to have lifted the trophy.

Gold Cup: Champions of all the editions

- 1991: United States

- 1993: Mexico

- 1996: Mexico

- 1998: Mexico

- 2000: Canada

- 2002: United States

- 2003: Mexico

- 2005: United States

- 2007: United States

- 2009: Mexico

- 2011: Mexico

- 2013: United States

- 2015: Mexico

- 2017: United States

- 2019: Mexico

- 2021: ?

When and where will the final of the competition be played?

The finalists will travel to Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, to meet in the final on August 1.



More news