Euro 2021: List by year of past UEFA European Championship winners

By Juan Angel Aiesi

Euro 2021: List by year of past UEFA European Championship winners

The UEFA European Championship, the most prestigious national team tournament in Europe and one of the greatest sports events in the world, has a long history and has seen different champions throughout its time.

Síguenos enSíguenos en Google News

The UEFA European Championship ithat was founded in 1960.


It is held every four years and is contested by UEFA's men's national teams. The Soviet Union won the inaugural final, defeating Yugoslavia 2-1 in extra time in Paris. Portugal won the most recent final, which was held in Paris in 2016, defeating France 1-0 after extra time.


The European Championship final is the competition's last match, and the outcome decides which country's team is crowned European champion. If the result is a tie after 90 minutes of regular play, a further 30-minute phase of play, known as extra time, is added. If a game is still tied after extra time, a penalty shoot-out is held. The squad that wins the penalty shoot-out is crowned champion.


The champions receive a copy of the trophy - the original is kept by UEFA - while the runner-ups and semi-finalists receive a plaque. The players of the winning and losing finalists get gold and silver medals, respectively. Germany and Spain are the tournament's most successful teams, having won it three times each.



he UEFA Euros been contested by 10 different countries. Spain and Germany, who won the championship three times, are the most successful teams in the tournament.  While Germany was the European champion in 1972, 1980, and 1996 (the first two as West Germany), Spain became the champion in 1964, 2008, and 2012. Spain is also the only team to have won the championship in back-to-back years. Spain's victory in the 2012 UEFA European Championship final saw the most goals scored in a UEFA European Championship final. They defeated Italy 4-0.



On the other hand, Germany has competed in a record six Euro finals. Portugal, Italy, Denmark, The Netherlands, the Soviet Union, Greece, and the Czechoslovak Republic are the other European heavyweights to win the championship. Portugal, led by Cristiano Ronaldo, will be the reigning champions at Euro 2020.

This decision was made by the UEFA to commemorate the tournament's 60th anniversary. It is a one-time charge, as the following edition will be hosted by a single country (Germany for Euro 2024). France was the last national team who have won the UEFA European Championship on their own turf in 1984.




Year  Winners

2016 Portugal

2012 Spain

2008 Spain

2004 Greece

2000 France

1996 Germany 

1992 Denmark

1988 Netherlands

1984 France

1980 West Germany

1976 Czechoslovakia

1972 West Germany

1968  Italy

1964 Spain

1960 Soviet Union.


More news