3 European countries compete for the candidacy for the 2030 World Cup

New candidacies to host the 2030 World Cup. The countries that tread the strongest are Spain - Portugal, Great Britain, and a South American team.

World Cup
World Cup

Boris Johnson, Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, confirmed in an interview in The Sun that his country will present an official candidacy to host the 2030 World Cup. In this way, it joins a race in which Spain is also present through its joint bid with Portugal. He understand that it is the right time for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland to launch a joint bid to host the most important tournament in the world, in addition to announcing that his government is committed to injecting 3 million euros to put into the process is underway.

The British Minister, assures that Britain is the right place to celebrate this tournament, cause is the home of football, and the time is also right. In addition, he said that it will be an absolutely wonderful thing for a country that breath this sport.  From now on, a feasibility study will be done before the formal bidding process begins. The football associations of England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Ireland have welcomed the government's commitment.

The English have not organized a major tournament since Euro 1996 and have failed in their attempt to host a World Cup, something that happened in 2018 when Russia was chosen. Now they have the power to convince FIFA through a candidacy that brings together all British countries and also Ireland. It should be noted that in the only edition held in their country, the hosts were champions, after beating West Germany in 1966. That is the only title in the world that England has held so far.

To date, it has been known that there are several candidates willing to fight for the 2030 World Cup. One of them is the Iberian. In October of last year, the president of the Spanish Football Federation, Luis Rubiales, and the president of the Portuguese Federation, Fernando Gomes, ratified an agreement in Lisbon to promote the organization of the tournament. According to the agreement, both institutions are committed to maintaining a collaboration to improve the quality and potential of football in Portugal and Spain through a work plan with specific annual objectives.

The South American Candidacy, already underway

In addition to those mentioned, there is also a candidacy in South America that includes Argentina, Uruguay, Chile and Paraguay. The strength of this option is that it marks the 100th anniversary of the first World Cup in history, held in Uruguay in 1930. A century later, the most important national team tournament in the world could return to its origin.

Related Articles

More Soccer News

More Soccer News