Liga MX News

Liga MX Final 2021: Date, time, how it will be played and where to watch from the U.S.

The wait is over and only the best made it: Atlas and Leon are going to the final of the Apertura 2021.  

Liga MX Final 2021: Leon Vs Atlas for the glory.
Liga MX Final 2021: Leon Vs Atlas for the glory.

Last night, the second finalist of the tournament was defined and everything is ready for the Liga MX Final 2021 to be played. Pumas failed and Atlas eliminated them in the Jalisco stadium. 

The match ended with a score of 1-0, which tied the aggregate score (1-1), however, due to their place in the general table due to the majority of points obtained in the tournament, the Zorros advanced to the final. 

Date and time of the first leg

Leon Vs Atlas

Where: Nou Camp stadium

Date: Thursday, December 9th

Time

ET: 10:00pm.

CT: 9:00pm.

MT: 8:00pm.

PT: 7:00pm.

Date and time of the second leg

Atlas Vs Leon

Where: Jalisco

Date: Sunday, December 12th

Time

ET: 9:15pm.

CT: 8:15pm.

MT: 7:15pm.

PT: 6:15pm.

The Rojinegros are living the dream and have a date with history. After slowing down Pumas' momentum, Atlas managed to beat the universities on aggregate. 

A more than fair result, considering that Atlas finished the regular tournament as the second-best team in the overall standings. 

Atlas coach Diego Cocca has had a great tournament as he managed to develop the full potential of his squad to go to their date with history. 

A date that had not occurred since 1999, when the Rojinegros lost on penalties to the mighty Toluca, one of the best teams, if not the best of the 90s. 

On the other hand, Leon reached the final with a 2-1 win over Tigres and is once again on its way to a Liga MX Final 2021

Since its return to the First Division of Mexican soccer after being relegated to the second division, Leon has been a frequent guest in Liga MX finals

Not only that, the Panzas Verdes has been, along with Pumas, the only two consecutive two-time champions since the short tournaments were introduced. 

Liga MX Final 2021: how it will be played

The Liga MX Final will be played in two matches, the first leg and the second leg, and will be played in sudden death: without a tie and without taking into account the teams' places in the overall standings. 

Whoever scores the most goals on aggregate will take home the ultimate glory of Mexican soccer. 

And the venues of the games are decided to take into account the place that both teams had in the general table.

Whoever had more points in the tournament plays the home game in the second leg, while the other team must play the first leg at home. 

In this way, the aim is to promote healthy competition in the table, since whoever made the greatest effort throughout the tournament will be able to close the final at home. 

Where to watch from the U.S.

TV channels: Univision (TUDN, UniMás), Telemundo, Universo, ESPN Deportes, Fox Deportes

Live stream: fuboTV, TUDN.tv, ESPN app, TelemundoDeportes.com, Fox Deportes app. 

The Liga MX Final 2021 will be a great opportunity for both teams to prove important things to their fans. 

Leon can consolidate its position as one of the most dominant teams in Liga MX in the 21st century. 

While Atlas has the opportunity to return to the place of honor in Mexican soccer, one it has not occupied since 1951.  

For you, who deserves to win?

Walter Gabriel Estrella Yah.

Journalist with more than 10 years of experience. Puma UNAM at heart. Fan of the most beautiful sport on the planet. I currently cover Liga MX, MLS, Premier League, Mexican National Team and USMNT. Always attentive to the latest world soccer news.+ info

Related Articles

More Soccer News

More Soccer News