Liga MX News

Gignac wins Liga MX goal-scoring title for the third time

The Frenchman scored 11 goals in the regular phase of the Clausura 2022 to win his third Liga MX scoring title.

Gignac is an historic Tigres player.
Gignac is an historic Tigres player.

French striker André-Pierre Gignac has had different achievements in his time in Liga MX and in this Clausura 2022 Tournament, he achieved one more by finishing as scoring champion, an achievement that makes him the first European player to win three such awards in Mexican soccer.

More Liga MX News:

Rio Tinto Stadium: which Liga MX teams will face each other this summer in the United States?

Gignac arrived at Tigres as reinforcement in 2015 and since then has had achievements, including four league championships, which were Apertura 2015, Apertura 2016, Apertura 2017, and Clausura 2019, in addition to a Concacaf Champions League.

The first time he won the golden boot was in Clausura 2016

His goal-scoring ability has allowed him to stand out with the UANL team, which allowed him to win his first scoring title in the 2016 Clausura by finishing with 13 goals, leaving behind Jorge Benítez of Cruz Azul, Mauro Boselli of León, and Oribe Peralta of América, as they all finished with nine goals each.

In the 2018 Apertura, the Frenchman once again won the award by finishing with 14 goals in the regular phase, surpassing Santos' Julio Furch, who finished with 12.

Gignac now scored 11 goals to take the top scorer trophy, as Necaxa's Rodrigo Aguirre was unable to score on Friday against Chivas and is down to nine goals.

Another of his closest pursuers is Pachuca's Nicolás Ibáñez, who also had nine goals, had a physical problem against Rayados on matchday 16, and missed the last matchday's game against Pumas.

Gignac, who did not play against Atlas due to injury, thus became the first European to win three goalscoring titles in Mexico.

Liga MX Top Scorers

After 17 rounds of the Clausura 2022 Liga MX tournament, André-Pierre Gignac scored 11 goals in the regular phase of the Clausura 2022 to win his third Liga MX scoring title.

The Frenchman won the golden boot in the Liga MX even though he did not score in his first two games but did score in 9 matches in a row and the teams that suffered from his onslaught were Pumas (1), Mazatlán (1), Chivas (1), Atlético de San Luis (1), FC Juárez (2), Cruz Azul (1), León (1), Monterrey (1), Tijuana (1) and Toluca (1).  

Nicolás Ibañez, the Pachuca player scored 9 goals in eight games and his victims were Atlético de San Luis (2), Necaxa (1), Quérétaro (1), América (1), Mazatlán (1), Toluca (1), Santos(1) and FC Juárez(1).

Rodrigo Aguirre also scored 9 goals as well as the Pachuca striker. The Uruguayan had a good end of the tournament and scored against Santos (2), Cruz Azul (1), Pumas (2), Atlas (1), Atlético de San Luis (2) and Tigres (1).

Gignac, Ibañez and Aguirre were followed in the scoring charts by two players in the goalscorer standings with seven goals. Germán Berterame of Atlético de San Luis (7), and Leonardo Fernández of Toluca.

More Liga MX News:

Here is the reclassification and qualification for the Clausura 2022 playoffs

Hugo Alberto Walls Gómez

SEO Journalist. Bachelor's Degree in Communication and Media Production. Two years working in digital media and editorial assignments. Currently working for Futbolero US and collaborating with INDeportes and Goleadoras MX, following Liga MX, MLS, and the Premier League. Passionate about sports and soccer.+ info

Related Articles

More Soccer News

More Soccer News